Sproul & Miller named 2012-13 OHL All-Stars

For Immediate Release
Thursday May 9, 2013

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the All-Star teams for the 2012-13 OHL regular season.

The Plymouth Whalers and the London Knights are represented twice on the First Team with Red Tilson Trophy winner and OHL Top Scorer Vince Trocheck, and OHL Coach of the Year Mike Vellucci for the Whalers.  The Knights have Top Scoring Right Winger Seth Griffith and two-time Defenceman of the Year finalist Scott Harrington.  The Owen Sound Attack lead the way with a total of three players represented across the three teams including First Team All-Star and Goaltender of the Year Jordan Binnington, Second Team All-Star Cody Ceci on defence, and Third Team All-Star Cameron Brace at right wing.  Five other teams have multiple representatives including the Sarnia Sting (Reid Boucher and Charles Sarault), Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (Ryan Sproul and Colin Miller), Kitchener Rangers (Ryan Murphy and John Gibson), Belleville Bulls (Malcolm Subban and George Burnett), and the Oshawa Generals (Boone Jenner and D.J Smith).

Scott Harrington appears on the First All-Star Team for the second straight year while fellow First Team All-Star defender Ryan Sproul was on the Third Team last season.  First Team All-Star Seth Griffith was on the Second All-Star Team last season.  Cody Ceci is a Second Team All-Star for the second straight season, while Second Team All-Star goaltender John Gibson was a Third Team All-Star last season.  Ryan Murphy is listed as an All-Star for the third straight season after appearing as a Second Team All-Star last season and a First Team All-Star in 2010-11.

The OHL All-Star Teams were selected by the OHL’s General Managers.  Players were voted on by position and received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third place vote.  In the case of defencemen, the top two selections received five points, the third and fourth selections received three points, and the fifth and sixth selections each received a single point.
2012-13 OHL All-Star Teams (voting points in brackets):
First All-Star Team:
C – Vince Trocheck, Plymouth Whalers (70)
LW – Reid Boucher, Sarnia Sting (80)
RW – Seth Griffith, London Knights (74)
D – Ryan Sproul, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (84)
D – Scott Harrington, London Knights (78)
G – Jordan Binnington, Owen Sound Attack (60)
Coach – Mike Vellucci, Plymouth Whalers (45)
Second All-Star Team:
C – Charles Sarault, Sarnia Sting (32)
LW – Garret Ross, Saginaw Spirit (48)
RW – Brett Ritchie, Niagara IceDogs (61)
D – Cody Ceci, Owen Sound Attack (41)
D – Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers (37)
G – John Gibson, Kitchener Rangers (57)
Coach – George Burnett, Belleville Bulls (39)
Third All-Star Team:
C – Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals (31)
LW – Anthony Camara, Barrie Colts (19)
RW – Cameron Brace, Owen Sound Attack (15)
D – Dylan DeMelo, Mississauga Steelheads (34)
D – Colin Miller, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (27)
G – Malcolm Subban, Belleville Bulls (29)
Coach – D.J Smith, Oshawa Generals (33)

More News
PHOTOS (115); SAR @ SOO - January 27, 2023
4 hours ago
Sting score three in third, beat Greyhounds
1 day ago
VIDEO; SAR 5 @ SOO 2 - Friday, January 27, 2023
1 day ago
Coach calls Kirill ‘the best’
2 days ago
VIDEO; Hockey Fights Cancer T-Shirts ARE HERE!
2 days ago
VIDEO; You or Me - Episode #2
3 days ago