Since their inception into the Ontario Hockey League in 1972, the Soo Greyhounds have become one of the top producers of professional hockey players in the world.
During that time the club has seen over 160 players become drafted, and have a shot at “living the dream” in the National Hockey League.  

A few Greyhounds who have gone on to such careers include Matt Murray, Darnell Nurse, Colin Miller, Wayne Simmonds, Jeff Carter, Steve Sullivan, Bob Probert, Ron Francis, Trevor Daley, Craig Hartsburg, John Vanbiesbrouk, Rick Tocchet, Denny Lambert, Nathan Perrott, Adam Foote, Paul Coffey, Dan Clouthier, Ric Jackman, Ted Nolan, Greg Millen, Jeff Beukeboom, Bob Boughner and Joe Thornton.

Heading into this summer’s 2020 NHL Enty Draft, the Hounds will be watching as seven current players are ranked to be selected:  Ryan O’Rourke, Jaromir Pytlik, Rory Kerins, Tanner Dickinson, Nick Malik, Robert Calisti and Tye Kartye.

The Greyhounds have also produced a plethora of players who have gone on to play pro hockey in the various minor pro leagues across North America as well as the elite leagues in Europe.

In addition to producing professional hockey players the Soo Greyhounds organization prides itself on developing good men.  With the aid of scholarships from the hockey club, many former players have gone on to professional careers including those who serve as crown attorneys, lawyers and physicians.