1st Rd; RYAN O’ROURKE (and COMPLETE round-by-round listing)

With their 1st Round Selection (20th overall) in the 2018 OHL Priority Selection, presented by Real Canadian Superstore, the Soo Greyhounds are very pleased to select defenceman RYAN O’ROURKE.

“Ryan’s a dynamic defenceman who was one of the top defenceman in the GTHL this season.  He played big minutes on a very powerful Vaughn club and along with possessing a big shot, he is a hard player to play against.  We’re very exited to add him to the program” stated Greyhounds General Manager Kyle Raftis.

The 6.00, 175-lb rearguard played this past season and was an Assistant Captain with the Vaughan Kings Minor Midget AAA.
In 55 games played, the Pickering, ON native recorded 12 goals and 32 assists, good for 44 points.

• Watch a video profile HERE.

Position:  LD
Shoots:  L
Height:  6.00
Weight:  175
Hometown:  Pickering, ON
Last Team:  Vaughan Kings MMAAA

SCOUTING REPORT (courtesy of the OHL Priority Selection Media Guide)
Ryan is a tough to play against two-way defenceman. He has good mobility and is a powerful skater which allows him to close gaps and take away me and space. He has a good skill set that allows him to move the puck out of his zone. He can rush the puck when the opportunity is there and he is good on the densive blue line at getting pucks on net or distributing it. Ryan is hard to beat defensively. He takes the body well and he has a good understanding of his positon and what he has to do.

To view the Greyhounds’ Round-by-Round selections in the 2018 OHL Priority Selection CLICK HERE.

Round 4 Rory Kerins

Watson 5th Round

Mufarreh Draft

McGuire Draft

Tomasini Draft

Mann Draft

Halushak Draft

Parker Draft

Brown Draft

Caufield Draft

McIntyre Draft

Gorton Draft

More News
Sticking to the structure at a key time for the Greyhounds
10 hours ago
VIDEO; Mar. 17/19 - SAG (2) @ SSM (5)
16 hours ago
VIDEO; Morgan Frost Tribute Video
16 hours ago
VIDEO; Mac Hollowell Tribute Video
16 hours ago
VIDEO; Keeghan Howdeshell Tribute Video
16 hours ago
2018-19 Team Award Winners Announced
1 day ago